Some like it hot; some are Londonites.

28 Sep

Zoe, you told me I would like Canada, but that’s cuz you lived in Montreal!  London is … something else.

I asked my boss, who was a semi-celebrity chef in Toronto for some years, where I could get a good bite to eat out in London. His response, and I quote: “HA HA HA.”

He then went on to describe the places that were the best value for the dollar.  In other words, there is no good food in London*, only better and worse ways to waste your money.

I mean, I grew up in Minnesota, which is no Texas, but the ‘HOT!’ salsa we bought at the store in London has zero hot peppers in the ingredients.  Mild doesn’t even begin to do this salsa justice.  It’s closer to flavorless, like drinking tap water in St. Paul: you can sort of vaguely taste something, but it’s not right.

So, I took a break from apples this week (we still have 30 of them – ug!) in order to do up a batch of spicy salsa.

How I made eye-watering, mouth-burning, euphoria-inducing spicy salsa!

Blend:

– ripe roma tomatoes

– tomatillos

– 1 medium purple onion

– jalapenos (Joke: How did the dentist clean the crocodile’s teeth?  Punchline: Very carefully!  Use the same discretion with jalapenos.)

– 1 large bell pepper

– 1/4 cup red wine vinegar

Spices:

– 2 T. ancho pepper

– 1/2 T. cumin

– 1 T. chipotle pepper

– 4 large cloves of garlic (minced)

– Salt and black pepper to taste

You can probably use any sort of tomato-pepper-vinegar-spice combination you like.  Corn, black beans, lime and cilantro would be great too, but I didn’t have any.

Blend ingredients together in a blender or a food processor.  If you don’t have a blender, borrow from your neighbor.  Good chili pepper spices are essential.  Ancho is amazing and if you don’t have it, I’d recommend finding some.  It’s good in everything.

Thank the Gods for DIY food and fun!  Now go make quesadillas!

*It isn’t totally true that there’s no good food in London.  My bosses, Michelle and Roy, at the Black Walnut Bakery Cafe make some of the best food I’ve ever had.  The soup and scones are unreal.

3 Responses to “Some like it hot; some are Londonites.”

  1. @momo_r September 29, 2010 at 4:53 am #

    Thanks PvPF! Fantastic recipe & story, so yummy! Look forward to the next one.

  2. Robin October 10, 2010 at 5:17 pm #

    So, I never follow recipes and didn’t make this salsa, but it has inspired a third component to the Sunday morning fried potatoes, peppers, mushrooms, and eggs event. I now take a smaller pan and do the olive oil, onion, garlic thing, then add chopped hot peppers and fresh tomatoes, cumin, etc etc. Something about the heat and the fresh tomatoes that creates a great fresh hot salsa. Today I used the yellow heirloom cherry tomatoes that have re-seeded themselves all over the garden, so that everywhere I look there are little yellow tomatoes peeking out. Worked well. Thanks for the idea.

    • Bec October 11, 2010 at 10:19 pm #

      Clearly everything involving yellow heirloom cherry tomatoes will work well. I am jealous of your bounty. Also loving the affirmation of the importance of HEAT!! We’ve been eating the salsa for over a week now and it just keeps getting hotter and garlic-i-er. Thanks for sharing your ideas!

Leave a Reply

