Ginger Golden Apple Muffins

10 Oct

Dear Bec, I know that we said that the purpose of this blog is to build community and friendship through sharing brunch with friends and strangers alike.  Lucky for me, that the sharing goes both ways because my contributions would be image-less without the help of my friends.

Brooklyn has bagels and artfully decorated brunch joints where hipsters in skinny jeans and serious glasses serve up adjective heavy plates of locally produced eggs and toast.  I do miss the atmosphere but I don’t really miss waiting for a table, and shelling out lots of money for a simple meal.  I’m sure that DC has comparable weekend spots, but I haven’t figured them out yet, so what to do on a sunny Sunday morning in October when a New Yorker friend pops in for a visit?  Impress her with muffins, of course!

I originally imagined making apple cinnamon muffins.  Warm, comforting and home-y, I love the flavor combination of apples and cinnamon.  They just seem to go together and when baking, it is hard to imagine one without the other.

But this morning, it was HOT.  I’m saying it’s mid-October, and in the 70’s at 10am with the sun threatening to only make things hotter.  So somehow, cinnamon felt seasonally incorrect.

Thanks to Monika and her blackberry for the photo

Ginger Golden Apple Muffins

(adapted from Mollie Katzen’s Sunlight Cafe Ginger Pear Muffin recipe)

1 med Golden Delicious Apple

1t lemon juice

2c flour

1/2t salt

1 1/2t baking powder

1/2c sugar

3T finely minced ginger (a knob the size of your thumb, about)

1/4c sour cream

3/4c milk

1 egg

1t vanilla

To make:

Dice apple and sprinkle with lemon juice to stop it fro mturning brown.  Mollie Katzen suggests grating your ginger, and if you have a fine grate, this would be a fine option, as I did not, I spent a few minutes peeling, slicing, mincing, and remincing the ginger.  Add to apples.

In a medium mixing bowl, combine flour, salt, baking powder and sugar.  (I know that sugar is usually combined with the wet ingredients, but I cook with feeling, and my feeling said to put the sugar with the dry this time).

In another bowl, melt butter, add sour cream and milk and mix.  Add egg, beat.  It will look pretty gross.  That’s okay, let’s just add it to the dry ingredients and throw in those apples and gingers too.

Mix gently, and not too much so as to not develop any gluten in the flour which would cause the muffins to become tough.  Spoon into greased or lined muffin tins and bake at 375 for 20-25 minutes until golden brown on top.

I didn’t miss the cinamon at all.  These muffins made me rethink my requirement for apples to be always prepared with cinamon.  In fact, the apple ginger combination is so good, that I thought it could interesting to bake an apple ginger cake (sans cinamon), with a dulce de leche drizzle perhaps?  Decadence, I’m sure.

Eat me!

Hindsight is 20/20

The original recipe called for buttermilk, but it’s not something I keep on hand.  I know that you can make buttermilk at home but that seemed like a lot of work, and I felt lazy, so I substituted sour cream and milk, which worked out pretty well.  The original recipe also called for four tablespoons of butter, but I was being stingy with the butter because I was considering baking a pie later and we were running low.  It’s possible the recipe could use the whole four tablespoons of butter, as these were a little bit drier than what you might buy at a coffee shop.  The flavor though, cannot be beat.

5 Responses to “Ginger Golden Apple Muffins”

  1. Robin October 11, 2010 at 2:13 am #

    So, the original recipe called for 4 T butter and a cup of buttermilk? (I’m a big fan of the buttermilk and always have some around. Making your own with vinegar and milk is actually pretty easy to do). Only 4 T of butter? How important is it for the apple to be a golden delicious, I wonder? so many questions…. but I’m intrigued by the ginger possibilities, and we have ginger, apples, and buttermilk in the house, and so…. And then could one use brown sugar instead of white?

    hmmmm, or is it mmmmm?

    Robin

  2. Zoe October 11, 2010 at 11:37 am #

    I was actually thinking of this lovely variety of apples called Ginger Golds for this recipe, but I picked the last of those in Iowa back in August, so they are out of season. Golden Delicious worked well, because it was not too assertive in flavor which matched well with the ginger.

    Yes, the original recipe only called for 4T of butter, which considering mine were only slightly dry (hardly noticeable), is impressive. But then it’s Mollie Katzen! The apples really do keep the batter moist, so I would not put any more than 4T in either way.

    And yep, making buttermilk at home is easy, but for me yesterday I couldn’t get myself to make those two extra steps, so it’s nice to know that it worked out this way too!

    Thanks for reading!!

    • Bec October 11, 2010 at 10:22 pm #

      Zoe,
      It makes me so happy to think of you and Monica in the Sunday sun with muffin-stuffed mouths. I almost called you today to invite you over before I remembered about the impracticality. Anyway, I’m super psyched to try out your (Katzen’s) muffin recipe: we still have apples from a month ago! You think I could do up a buttermilk-like thing with milk and yogurt? Great post!

  3. Margie October 12, 2010 at 2:06 pm #

    This looks so tasty! I will definitely try and not skimp on the butter – EVER.

    miss you gals!

  4. Elizabeth October 14, 2010 at 12:53 pm #

    It’s that apple baking time of the year, and these totally inspired me. I made them, but the buttermilk version because I was out of sour cream and with all the butter because, why not. And they were fabulous! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

