Nueva Yorkie, Bunnies and Sugar

3 Mar

Dear Nina and Becky,

You know that I’m excited for your wedding, right?  Like super, “pee-my-pants” kind of excited, where I’m going to be hopping from one foot to the other in anticipation for the next…ooooh, three months.  I’d like to reiterate what I also expressed to you over Skype. Mainly that I am equally “pee-my-pants” terrified for your wedding, because you geniuses asked me to make a wedding cake for you.  Take a look at the photos below, and take this opportunity to second guess yourselves.  Xoxo,  Zoe

Radioactive Rainbow of Sugar


So last weekend I made a last-minute trip to New York.  With four three-day weekends within the span of two months, it was practically a requirement that I get out of town and with my options limited to places with free lodging and Chinatown transport, New York it was.  Plus, there are some real quality people who live there and a shot adrenaline and sometimes good shot of three-day old urine fumes is just what the doctor ordered. 

My lovely hostess for this trip was Emily, former Nina and Becky roommate, and couch host-er extraordinaire.  This lovely lady is also a lover of cake.  When presented with the difficult question of cake vs. pie, it is simply not a question in her mind.  So cake was inevitable on this trip, and the only question was how to decorate.

Since my friendship with Emily stems from our mutual bonds with Nina and Bec and since we are both equally feeling sad at those jerks living in Canadia instead of in our neighborhoods, we decided to decorate the cake with N&B motifs.   Without further ado, I present to you Gay Pride Bunny:

Bunny bounds through the green, green, grass!

When the bunny was done, it was obvious that we needed to make some true to life portraits of our friends.  Here they are in perfect likeness:

It's like looking in the mirror...

There’s really no recipe to follow here just Duncan Hines Yellow Cake, Chocolate Frosting, and Classic White Frosting—because sometimes you just need cake from a box!

Now we can all be fairly confident in my skills to create a really embarrassing wedding cake for my friends.  More skilled attempts to follow?!

3 Responses to “Nueva Yorkie, Bunnies and Sugar”

  1. emmaduer March 4, 2011 at 1:31 am #

    Zoe, you are GOOD. I mean, scary good. As in, I’m going to be amazed if there is any room for improvement at all. Your next attempt might actually blow my mind.

  2. Bec March 4, 2011 at 4:30 am #

    Seriously…could there be a fluffier-looking bunny butt?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Happy Wedding my friends! « The People v. Picket Fence - July 3, 2011

    […] realize now, that the self-doubting tone I took in my previous cake posts here, here, and honestly here too, was not the best way for me to put my friends at ease about their […]

Leave a Reply

